2017 Distinguished Achievement Award Winner

John (Jay) T. Fallon III, M.D., Ph.D.

Jay Fallon

John T. Fallon III MD, PhD received his BA from Providence College and his MD and PhD from Albany Medical College. Even during medical school he was interested in cardiovascular pathology, as his PhD thesis was entitled Hemodynamics and atherosclerosis: Endothelial damage and ultrasonic arterial lesions. Dr. Fallon then went on to pursue pathology training at Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School. He was recipient of an NIH public health service training grant to continue fellowship training Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School. He remained at Massachusetts General Hospital as an Assistant then Associate Professor of Pathology both at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Division of Health Sciences and Technology. Dr. Fallon joined Mount Sinai School of Medicine in 1994 as a Professor of Pathology. He became Chairman and Professor of Pathology at New York Medical College in 2009.

Dr. Fallon has a strong history of research with over 290 original reports, overwhelmingly related to cardiovascular pathology and his major research interests in pathophysiology of ischemic heart disease, experimental vascular injury, and the immunopathology of human myocarditis and allograft rejection. His research in the field of atherosclerosis has helped to delineate the pathogenesis of thrombogenicity of atherosclerotic plaques, the role of inflammation in plaque rupture, and the mechanisms of intimal hyperplasia and restenosis after vascular interventions, to name but a few areas of his investigations. Dr. Fallon is a former member of the NIH Scientific Review Group of the Cardiovascular and Renal Study Section and he has also been the PI on NIH SCOR and training grants, most recently PI for NIH Thrombosis SCOR - Pathology Core and Co-Investigator in vulnerable Plaque Studies. He also served as a member of the NIH Myocarditis Study Group.

Dr. Fallon is a Founding- Member, Past- President, Past Awards Chairman and Past Councilor of the Society for Cardiovascular Pathology and is on the editorial board of Cardiovascular Pathology.