Observation à fort grossissement

Après avoir parcouru la lame à faible grossissement (objectifs 4x à 10x), le pathologiste passe au fort grossissement sur les zones comportant un infiltrat inflammatoire, en utilisant en général l'objectif 20x. A ce grossissement, dans ces zones pathologiques, il faut d'abord rechercher des lésions myocytaires. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'utiliser le fort grossissement pour parcourir les zones qui paraissent normales à faible grossissement. Cette partie du tutoriel est consacrée aux observations faites à fort grossissement. Elle abordera successivement les lésions myocytaires, l'identification des cellules de l'infiltrat et les lésions interstitielles.

Confirmation de la lésion myocytaire

 

Dès qu'un infiltrat lymphocytaire est identifié, l'étape suivante consiste à rechercher une lésion myocytaire. La lésion myocytaire (c'est à dire dommage/nécrose) qui est associée au rejet aigu cellulaire peut être difficile à identifier, et peut être confondue avec d'autres lésions (mauvaise fixation). La lésion myocytaire est souvent subtile et mieux évaluée en observant la même région sur plusieurs niveaux de coupes. La lésion myocytaire peut inclure : la vacuolisation, le halo péri-nucléaire, le noyau nu, l'empiètement du myocyte par le lymphocyte (conduisant à la perte de la régularité des contours du myocyte) et la substitution du myocyte par de la matrice extra-cellulaire avec un infiltrat inflammatoire dense. L'hyperéosinophilie et la pycnose nucléaire sont aussi de bons témoins d'une lésion myocytaire. Dans la classification révisée, la myocytolyse et la nécrose de coagulation sont retenues comme des critères mineurs reconnus d'atteinte myocytaire.

Lésion myocytaire Myocyte injury Myocyte injury

Un autre signe d'une lésion myocytaire peut être un changement dans la structure du sarcomère. Si les myofibrilles du myocyte sont normalement visibles, le myocyte n'est pas atteint. Si celles-ci ont disparu et que le cytoplasme est hyperéosinophile et dense, le myocyte est sûrement lésé. La coloration au trichrome de Masson peut souligner les lésions myocytaires précoces ; dans ce cas, les myocytes lésés sont rétractés, de couleur plutôt bleu-grisâtre par perte de la couleur éosinophile normale.

Tous ces changements doivent être observés à proximité de lymphocytes. En l'absence de lymphocytes, la lésion myocytaire n'est pas due au rejet cellulaire, mais à d'autres processus comme des lésions ischémiques qui peuvent être observées dans les premières semaines après la transplantation.

Pour confirmer la présence d'une atteinte myocytaire et ne pas interpréter à tort une lésion myocytaire isolée et présente sur seule section histologique, il est toujours utile d'observer les zones potentiellement lésées sur plusieurs niveaux de coupe.

Identification des cellules interstitielles

 

Un grand nombre de cellules peuvent être présentes sur une biopsie, en dehors des myocytes. Les plus importantes sont celles de l'infiltrat du rejet aigu cellulaire, qui sont principalement des lymphocytes T (CD4+ et CD8+), avec quelques macrophages et de rares éosinophiles. Une augmentation substantielle des lymphocytes B activés et des cellules Natural Killer peut se voir dans les rejets modérés à sévères.

Les noyaux observés dans l'interstitium ne correspondent pas tous à des lymphocytes. Le fort grossissement peut être utile pour identifier la nature exacte de l' « infiltrat » et exclure un rejet cellulaire. Les autres composants cellulaires de l'interstitium comprennent les fibroblastes, les myofibroblastes, les cellules mésenchymateuses primitives, les cellules dendritiques, les mastocytes, les cellules endothéliales et les péricytes. Des lymphocytes dispersés et de rares macrophages peuvent également être présents dans le myocarde normal. En général, seuls les lymphocytes se regroupent en amas dans le myocarde.

Interstitial cells Interstitial cells Interstitial cells

Composition de l'infiltrat inflammatoire

 

L'analyse du type de cellules inflammatoires présentes dans les biopsies myocardiques de transplantés cardiaques est importante pour identifier un rejet, le grader ou pour diagnostiquer une autre pathologie. Le rejet aigu cellulaire est toujours caractérisé par la présence de lymphocytes (lymphocytes T). Les lymphocytes activés avec un cytoplasme plus abondant sont plus fréquents dans les rejets de haut grade.

Dans un contexte approprié, un infiltrat inflammatoire polymorphe comportant des polynucléaires neutrophiles et éosinophiles peut être un signe de rejet cellulaire de plus haut grade (3R). Les polynucléaires neutrophiles peuvent aussi se voir en cas de nécrose ischémique, qui peut s'observer pendant plusieurs semaines après la transplantation.

Des polynucléaires éosinophiles peuvent être présents dans les rejets de grade modéré (2R) ou sévère (3R) pour lesquels on retrouve également une nécrose myocytaire. En général ils sont rares et dispersés. On n'observe presque jamais d'éosinophiles dans le rejet léger (1R) et leur présence doit attirer l'attention sur le fait qu'il puisse s'agir plutôt d'un rejet modéré ou sévère (2R & 3R).

Eosinophils Eosinophils Eosinophils

Les éosinophiles peuvent aussi se voir dans l'hypersensibilité myocardique liée le plus souvent à des agents pharmacologiques. Dans ce cas, les éosinophiles sont prédominants au sein de l'infiltrat et sont souvent groupés en amas. Il existe également des lymphocytes, des plasmocytes et des macrophages. La nécrose myocytaire n'est pas un signe caractéristique de cette pathologie, cependant, il est possible de rencontrer une myocytolyse focale. Les polynucléaires éosinophiles peuvent être un des signes d'infections parasitaires dans le myocarde.

Eosinophils Eosinophils Eosinophils

Analyse de l'interstitium

 

L'interstitium doit être observé à fort grossissement pour analyser les cellules et l'œdème. La présence de débris nucléaires ou de matériel amorphe basophile ou éosinophile, dans des zones d'infiltrat dense, est évocateur d'atteinte myocytaire et d'apoptose cellulaire. Peu de temps après la transplantation, ces lésions sont souvent liées à de l'ischémie péri-opératoire. Cependant, pour les transplants anciens, ces aspects histologiques sont utiles pour mieux évaluer le rejet.

Dirty Material Dirty Material Dirty Material Dirty Material Dirty Material

L' œdème interstitiel peut être un signe de rejet humoral. Cependant, il convient d'éliminer des artéfacts de manipulation ou de technique de la biopsie. Dans un vrai œdème, les myocytes sont séparés par une matrice éosinophile « vaporeuse ». De plus, en cas de rejet humoral, d'autres signes doivent être présents, comme des cellules endothéliales turgescentes, des macrophages interstitiels et/ou des suffusions hémorragiques.

Myocytolyse ( au cours de la coronaropathie du greffon)

Myocytolysis

Une vacuolisation myocytaire ou une myocytolyse, focale ou diffuse, de topographie sous-endocardique peut être un marqueur de lésion ischémique réversible. La myocytolyse se caractérise par une clarification du sarcoplasme et du noyau, avec un élargissement du noyau et un nucléole proéminent. Si cet aspect est observé dans les biopsies endomyocardiques de patients transplantés depuis plus d'un an, il peut être le signe d'une coronaropathie accélérée sténosante du greffon.

Modifications des cellules endothéliales (dans le rejet humoral)

Les critères de diagnostic du rejet humoral sont expliqués dans une autre section du tutoriel. Au faible grossissement, sur des lames colorées à l' hématoxyline-éosine, la proéminence des capillaires et des veinules, aide au diagnostic de rejet humoral. Le fort grossissement permet d'examiner les cellules endothéliales qui dans le rejet humoral sont plus volumineuses et turgescentes (« gonflées »), avec un noyau plus gros et hyperchromatique. Ces signes sont en faveur d'un rejet humoral et justifient des investigations plus poussées pour détecter la présence d'immunoglobulines et de complément.

  • Aller au rejet.
  • Retour vers observation à faible grossissement.
  • The information on the Society for Cardiovascular Pathology's Web Site is provided with the understanding that the Society is not rendering medical advice, or recommendations. You should not rely on any information in the text files, messages, bulletin boards or articles on these pages to replace consultations with qualified health care professionals to meet your individual medical needs.

High Power

After a slide is visually scanned at low power (4x, 10x objectives) a pathologist typically moves to high power on areas that contain an inflammatory infiltrate. Generally this is with a 20x objective. At this power, one is investigating primarily for myocyte injury in areas of lymphocytic infiltrate. There is no strong indication to use the high power objectives on areas of normal appearing myocytes observed at low power. This section of the tutorial takes you through the observations made at high power. It will cover the topics of myocyte injury, identification of the infiltrating cells, and interstitial findings.

Confirmation of myocyte injury

 

Once the presence of a lymphocytic infiltrate is established, the next step would be to look for myocyte injury. Myocyte injury (ie damage/necrosis) that is associated with acute rejection may be difficult to recognize, and other changes can be mistaken for myocyte injury (poor fixation). Myocyte injury is often subtle and best appreciated by observing the same area across multiple levels. Some morphological features of myocyte injury include: vacuolization, perinuclear halo, myocyte nucleus without surrounding cytoplasm, lymphocyte encroachment onto the myocyte with irregular myocyte borders, and myocyte dropout (areas of heavy inflammation and matrix material where a myocyte should have been). Hypereosinophilia and nuclear pyknosis are also good indicators of myocyte injury. In the revised working formulation, milder types of acceptable myocyte injury include myocytolysis and coagulative necrosis.

Myocyte injury Myocyte injury Myocyte injury

Another clue for myocyte injury is a change in the sarcomere structure. If one can see normal myofibril patterning in the myocyte, that myocyte is not injured. If that patterning is gone and the cytoplasm becomes hypereosinophilic and clumpy, there is a good chance that myocyte is injured. Masson trichrome stain can highlight early myocyte injury, in which case injured myocytes are shrunken and have more of a blue-gray color instead of the normal eosinophilia seen in normal myocardium.

All of these changes must be seen in the presence of adjacent lymphocytes. If lymphocytes are not present, then the myocyte injury is not caused by cellular rejection and would be the result of some other process such as ischemic injury that can be seen in the early weeks following transplantation.

It is always a good idea to look at multiple levels of the potentially injured area as confirmation of the myocyte injury as sometimes a single histologic section can be misinterpreted as injury.

Identification of interstitial cells

 

If one looks beyond the myocytes, one can see a variety of additional cell types in the biopsy material. The most important would be the cellular infiltrate of acute cardiac rejection, which is principally T cells (CD4+ and CD8+), with fewer macrophages and occasional eosinophils. A substantial increase in activated B cells and natural killer cells has been seen in moderate to severe rejection.

Not all nuclei seen within the interstitium represent lymphocytes, however, and high magnification may be needed to identify the exact nature of the "infiltrate" to exclude cellular rejection. Other cellular components of the myocardial interstitium include fibroblasts and myofibroblasts, primitive mesenchymal cells, dendritic cells, mast cells, endothelial cells and pericytes. Scattered lymphocytes and occasional macrophages can also be seen in normal myocardium. Generally, only lymphocytes cluster in the myocardium.

Interstitial cells Interstitial cells Interstitial cells

Nature of the inflammatory infiltrate

 

The type of inflammatory cells seen in endomyocardial biopsies from cardiac transplant recipients is important in distinguishing an infiltrate as being due to rejection versus another process, as well as helping to determine the grade of rejection. Acute cellular rejection is always characterized by the presence of lymphocytes (T cells). Activated lymphocytes, which are more prominent in higher levels of rejection, have increased cell cytoplasm.

In the appropriate setting, a mixed inflammatory cell infiltrate with neutrophils and eosinophils may be indicative of higher grades of cellular rejection (3R). Neutrophils can also be seen in heart biopsies that have ischemic necrosis which can be present for several weeks after transplantation.

Eosinophils can be found in moderate (2R) or severe (3R) grades of rejection in which there is also myocyte necrosis. Generally they are rare and scattered. Eosinophils are almost never a feature of mild (1R) rejection and their presence should serve to increase one's awareness that moderate or severe (2R & 3R) rejection, maybe present.

Eosinophils Eosinophils Eosinophils

Eosinophils can also be seen in hypersensitivity myocarditis most often related to pharmacologic agents. In this scenario, the eosinophils make up a large ratio of the infiltrating cell mix and often cluster. The inflammatory infiltrate in hypersensitivity myocarditis also includes lymphocytes, plasma cells, and macrophages. Although focal myocytolysis can be seen in hypersensitivity myocarditis, myocyte necrosis is not a prominent feature. Eosinophils in EMB can also be seen in parasitic infection. Eosinophils Eosinophils Eosinophils

Analysis of the interstitium

 

The interstitium should be evaluated at high power for the presence of cellular material and edema. The presence of a debris field, nuclear debris or other amorphous ("dirty") basophilic and eosinophilic material, in areas of heavy infiltrate is consistent with myocyte injury and cellular apoptosis. Early after transplantation, it is more often associated with peri-transplant ischemic injury. However, in late biopsies it is a useful histologic finding in areas concerning for rejection.

Dirty Material Dirty Material Dirty Material Dirty Material Dirty Material

Interstitial edema in a cardiac transplant biopsy may be a sign of antibody-mediated rejection. However, separation of myocytes can be seen as an artifact of handling and processing of the biopsy and therefore simulate edema. With true edema, myocytes are separated by whispy eosinophilic strands of matrix. Additionally, in the setting of antibody-mediated rejection, other findings should also be present, such as prominent capillary endothelial cells, interstitial macrophages, and/or hemorrhage.

Myocytolysis (for graft CAD)

Myocytolysis

Focal or diffuse subendocardial vacuolization of myocytes, or myocytolysis, may be a marker for reversible ischemic injury. Myocytolysis is a clearing of the sarcoplasm and nuclei, with nuclear enlargement and prominent nucleoli. If seen in endomyocardial biopsy samples from cardiac transplant recipients who are more than a year from transplantation, this finding could be a marker for accelerated coronary artery narrowing that occurs in transplanted hearts.

Endothelial cell changes (in AMR)

Criteria for making the diagnosis of antibody-mediated acute rejection are presented elsewhere in this tutorial. Among the findings on H & E-stained slides that may suggest AMR, the low power prominence of capillaries and venules may be helpful. High magnification is useful for examination of endothelial cells, which in AMR, are large and prominent ("swollen"), with enlarged and hyperchromatic nuclei. These findings support the presence of AMR and warrant further investigation to asses for the presence of immunoglobulin and complement.

  • Forward to rejection.
  • Backward to low power findings.
  • The information on the Society for Cardiovascular Pathology's Web Site is provided with the understanding that the Society is not rendering medical advice, or recommendations. You should not rely on any information in the text files, messages, bulletin boards or articles on these pages to replace consultations with qualified health care professionals to meet your individual medical needs.